Suspended License in Fayette County
Legal Guidance from Our Peachtree City Criminal Defense Lawyers
Your ability to legally operate a motor vehicle is not a right in Georgia, but instead a privilege. Due to this legal categorization, your driver’s license can be suspended due to administrative actions or criminal penalties. In either situation, losing your ability to drive will be damaging to your wellbeing and disruptive to your day-to-day routines.
Manning Peace, LLC and our license defense attorneys in Fayette County can help you keep your driving privilege or reinstate it if your license has already been suspended. Backed by more than 15 years of total criminal defense experience, we are familiar with both Georgia’s criminal defense system and the Georgie Department of Driver Services (DDS). Our knowledge and insight can give you the upper hand in your case and protect your freedom of mobility.
Contact our law firm at (678) 515-5455 to learn more about how we can help you reinstate your driver's license!
Reasons Why Your Driver’s License Could Be Suspended
There are numerous reasons why you could lose your driver’s license to suspension. Some are based on criminal violations, and others due to citations or court orders. Our Fayette County license defense lawyers are capable of managing your case on your behalf, no matter the details behind why the suspension has occurred.
Your driver’s license will face mandatory suspension if you are convicted of:
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Vehicular assault
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI)
- Most other crimes involving the use of a vehicle
Your driver’s license could be suspended if you:
- Refuse to take a chemical test after a DUI arrest
- Fail to appear in court as summoned
- Do not respond to a traffic citation
- Accumulate 15 “points” in 2 years on your driver’s record
License Reinstatement & Limited Driving Permits
In order to have your driver’s license reinstated after a suspension, you will have to wait out the suspension period and fulfill any other sentencing requirements. Once these prerequisites have been met, you can reapply for your driver’s license by reporting to the DDS and paying reinstatement fees. If your driver’s license was revoked, you will also need to retake any required driver’s tests.
As it is not ideal to wait for your suspension period to end, you can talk to our Fayette County criminal defense attorneys about getting a limited driving permit. Depending on the circumstances of your suspension, the DDS may allow you to gain such a permit, which makes it legal for you to drive to and from certain locations or for certain reasons. For example, you could be able to drive to work, schools, medical appointments, etc. Violating the terms of your limiting driving permit, or being convicted of any crime, will have the permit revoked.
Comprehensive Legal Representation for Your License Defense Case
Our Peachtree City criminal defense attorneys are ready and willing to stand by your side when you need to challenge the suspension of your license, which can be done with a DDS Hearing Request. We can also guide you through the reinstatement process or zealously fight any charges that could trigger the suspension of your license. From the first moment of your case to the last, your best interests are our top priorities.
Schedule a FREE 30-minute consultation to learn more about our services and your legal options.