In Georgia, officers treat drunk driving seriously. If they pull you over on suspicion of DUI, what can you expect? Often an officer will start off with a field sobriety test. 

It is important to understand what these tests are. It is also important to understand how officers use them. You should know their overall importance in trial, too. 

Standardized field sobriety testing look at the difference between types of field sobriety testing. The two main types include standardized and non-standardized. Non-standardized field sobriety tests do not see as much use. This is because they do not have a universal rubric by which police can judge the results. In other words, results from non-standardized tests are subject to personal bias. The officer giving the test is the only one who determines if the person passes or fails. 

Standardized field sobriety tests do have a universal rubric. This allows judgment to end up more uniform across the board. Also, there are only three types of standardized field sobriety tests. There are many more non-standardized tests in general, despite seeing less use. 

3 types of standardized field sobriety tests 

The three types of standardized field sobriety tests are: 

  • The horizontal gaze nystagmus 
  • The walk-and-turn 
  • The one-legged stand 

These tests focus on factors that may reveal information on your sobriety level. For example, the one-legged stand checks your balance. The walk-and-turn checks your dexterity as well as balance. Horizontal gaze nystagmus checks your eyes for tremors. They often shown in people with high BAC levels. All tests will check your ability to follow directions. 

But note that these tests are not a form of solid evidence. Officers often use them to decide if they need further testing.