Exceeding the speed limit on a Georgia road can put you at risk of a police officer pulling you over and giving you a ticket. However, the faster you drive, the more severe your penalty can be. That is because a state law known as the Super Speeder Law has designated a special status for drivers who speed particularly fast. These drivers are known as Super Speeders.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services explains that a Super Speeder is a person that is found guilty of driving in certain excesses of the speed limit. If you are driving at 75 mph on a two lane road, you could be charged under the Super Speeder law. A Georgia driver can also be charged as a Super Speeder by driving at or greater than 85 mph on any road or highway in the state.
Being designated a Super Speeder can stack additional penalties on top of the ones you would ordinarily incur from speeding. If convicted of being a Super Speeder, you would have to pay a $200 fee within 120 days of officially receiving notice that you are required to pay the fee. If you do not, your license or driving privileges will be suspended and you would have to pay $50 to reinstate your driving privileges on top of the $200 penalty.
A Super Speeder conviction does not mean you incur additional points on your license. Nonetheless, Super Speeder penalties can cost you a lot of money and perhaps your driving privileges if the fee is not paid. Also, for each Super Speeder conviction, you must pay an additional $200. And if your license is suspended for not paying the fees, you must pay a $50 reinstatement fee for each Super Speeder fee you did not pay.
The financial burden that Super Speeder penalties can impose on a driver makes fighting a traffic charge something to consider. Keep in mind that Georgia drivers will have varying experiences with law enforcement when it comes to speeding, so only read this article as general information and not as legal advice for your situation.